Press "Enter" to skip to content

Posts published in “Hindustani knowledge base”

#ListenToSing – Featuring Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia

Here is the first in the series of #ListenToSing for Riyazers pursuing Hindustani classical music tradition. This is a rare gem of a video where you see the unparalleled maestro of Bansuri, Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia, speak about his life and journey. It is humbling to see the legend talk in such simple terms. Do watch till the end! 🙂 Tell us what is your learning from this video in the comments below. Other Riyazers could benefit from your observations.

Saptak in Hindustani Classical Music

What is Saptak? Saptak stands for  “gamut” or ” series of seven notes”. It comprises of the set of swaras, Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ni which makes up a musical scale in Indian classical music. [1] It is usually practiced against a drone.  What are the types of Saptak? Hindustani classical music is made up of three saptaks namely, Mandra Saptak, Madhya Saptak, and Taar Saptak. The middle scale is called Madhya Saptak. This is the most used…

Advice from the heart of the heart-throb!

“There is actually no formula that can make anyone a top singer. Many singers who started to sing much late in life are doing good and making money. Therefore, I believe that for any field, be it music, film or fashion, the right time is when you decide on something and how passionate you are about it.Singing is something in which one needs to put a lot of soul and humility. Arrogance and judging people is what one should stay…

Sonu Nigam’s tip to beginners

“In order to keep upgrading oneself as a singer, voice exercise or Riyaz is something to never give up. Also, let your family and  friends be your first critiques. Let them give their opinion on your singing as well as give tips on your singing. Always be humble and learn a new thing everyday as there is no limit to learning and what you can achieve with it.” – Sonu Nigam

Alankar and Palte: Spicing up the swaras

What is Alankar? In Hindustani Classical Music, Alankar or Alankara means ornaments or adornments. Alankara is also referred to as Palta at times. Alankar is integral to the core essence of Hindustani classical music. The earliest reference to the term Alankar can be been found in Bharata’s Natyashastra, which was written sometime between 200 BC and 200 AD. This treatise talks about the 33 types of Alankars. Other musical treatises like Sharangdev’s Sangeet Ratnakar in the thirteenth century and Ahobal’s…

Why practice swaras?

What are swaras? Hindustani classical music has seven basic notes called swaras. These are Shadja, Rishabha, Gandhara, Madhyama, Panchama, Dhaivata and Nishada. We commonly come across them in their shortened forms as Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, and Ni. Sa is the root/base note and the reference point based on which an octave is defined. Together, they are known as the sargam. The Shadja The Shadja or Sa is the root/base note with respect to which remaining swaras of…

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.