Site icon Riyaz


Know your Nottuswarams

Raga Shankarabharanam has all the seven notes. Arohana has S R2 G3 M1 P D2 N3 Ṡ, Avarohana has Ṡ N3 D2 P M1 G3 R2 S. Singing of exercises helps in getting an idea about the swara sthanas or places of notes. Nottuswarams are the small songs which resemble western melodies composed by Sri Mutthuswami Dikshitar in the language Sanskrit.This course is brought to you by SaPa. Tutors and contributors for this course include K. Shruthiranjani, Gayathri Prakash,Vivek Sadasivam and Abishek Sridhar (Voice), Ambi Subramaniam (Violin) and B S Prashanth (Mridangam).

Course contents


Notes and scale

Get to Know the Tanpura

Course Introduction

Scale (Speed 1)

Scale (Speed 2)

Scale (Speed 3)

2 Note phrases

3 Note phrases

Rama phrases

Shakti phrases

Shyamale phrases

Rama Janardhana

Structure of a Taala

The Concept of Taala

The Concept of Raaga

Rama Janardhana - Swara

Rama Janardhana - Sahitya

Shakti Sahita

Shakti Sahita - Swara

Shakti Sahita - Sahitya


Beat with Four Notes

Shyamale - Swara

The Western Connection

Shyamale - Sahitya

Exit mobile version